Stuart A. Kornfeld, MD to receive the 2022 Roscoe O. Brady Award for Innovation and Accomplishment

Stuart A Kornfeld, MDStuart A. Kornfeld, MD, is the David C. and Betty Farrell Professor of Medicine at Washington University in St. Louis. He is best known for his contributions to the field of glycoprotein research – the study of how sugars are attached to proteins and the roles these molecules play in cellular function. His lab was instrumental in elucidating the pathway for the biosynthesis of the Mannose 6-phosphate moieties on lysosomal hydrolases. These residues serve as recognition molecules for the delivery of newly synthesized hydrolases to lysosomes. Defects in this pathway give rise to the lysosomal diseases mucolipidosis II and III. This glycoprotein receptor-mediated uptake of enzymes is the basis for ‘cross-correction’, the underpinning mechanism of all lysosomal enzyme replacement therapies.

Dr. Kornfeld is a graduate of Dartmouth College and received his MD degree from Washington University. He did postgraduate training at Barnes Hospital and later at the National Institutes of Health. He has received numerous awards for his research contributions, including the E.B. Wilson Medal from the American Society for Cell Biology, the Passano Award and the Kober Medal from the Association of American Physicians. He is an elected member of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Medicine and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The 2022 Roscoe O. Brady Award will be presented on Monday, February 7, 2022 at 7:30 AM PST, followed by a scientific presentation from Dr. Kornfeld Dissecting the Mannose 6-Phosphate Pathway – A Key to Understanding Lysosomal Enzyme Trafficking.

About the WORLDSymposium Roscoe O. Brady Award for Innovation and Accomplishment

Each year, WORLDSymposium recognizes one individual for innovation and accomplishment in the field of lysosomal disease research and therapy. This award has been renamed the Roscoe O. Brady Award for Innovation and Accomplishment to honor one of the early pioneers in lysosomal research, Roscoe O. Brady, MD, who was a beloved mentor to many currently working in the field. Dr. Brady passed away in 2016, and WORLDSymposium has renamed the annual Innovation and Accomplishment Award to honor his achievements.

The award is presented annually to recognize substantial contributions to lysosomal disease research and therapy. The recipient is presented with an engraved award and is recognized at the WORLDSymposium scientific meeting held annually in February. The award winner is also invited to present a 30-minute address as the opening speaker at WORLDSymposium, and an announcement of the award recipient is included in the February special lysosomes issue of Molecular Genetics and Metabolism. (This award is given on a yearly basis, but can be omitted in any given year at the discretion of the Planning Committee.) Nominations are solicited annually from members of the lysosomal disease community, planning committee members and attendees of WORLDSymposium.

Past Award Recipients:

2004 William Krivit, MD, PhD
2006 Henri A. Termeer
2008 Roscoe O. Brady, MD
2009 Elizabeth F. Neufeld, PhD
2010 William S. Sly, MD
2011 Steven U. Walkley, PhD
2012 John J. Hopwood, PhD
2013 Robert J. Desnick, PhD, MD
2014 Gregory A. Grabowski, MD
2015 Stephen C. Groft, PharmD
2016 Emil D. Kakkis, MD, PhD
2017 Konrad Sandhoff, PhD
2018 Mark E. Haskins, VMD, PhD
2019 Danilo A. Tagle, PhD, MS
2020 John F. Crowley
2021 Ellen Sidransky, MD